Walking out of Barred Gates

Walking out of barred gates

First, a crisp, delicious wind

Second, the feel of soft, warm dirt cushioning my feet.

A beautiful sanctuary of forest and glen,

Opening up to eternity, to further up and further in.

How can I get where I want to be?

Perhaps through that barred gate above me.

Climb and struggle and sweat and scream,

Finally reach the top, the creaky opening.

Stuck in a cage of foliage and no sun,

No way to see out, to leap, to run

To go further up, to go further in, no way to see the trouble I’m in.

By grace my weary mind can see,

the only way to eternity

is back out the way that I came in,

out of my plans and abiding in Him.

The only way to further up and further in

Is to surrender my desires, and latch onto Him.

Leave a Reply

